How do I find vegan alcohol?

Brewmasters, winemakers, and distillers may include animal ingredients in their products directly, or they might use them in the processing and filtration.

When making the product, dairy, honey, and other things are ingredients in the final recipe.

When filtering the drinks prior to bottling, companies can use things like isinglass (from fish bladder), gelatin, egg whites, and sea shells, among other things. These products grab onto the impurities and make it easier to catch them in the filters, though there are many animal-free alternatives in use. And these ingredients are never listed on the labels.


Visit Barnivore to find out if a beer, wine, or liquor is vegan.

Related VegResources Guides

Guide Updated January 10, 2021

Suggest a Change